An Exploration of Light for Comm 370

Panoramas:

I really like panorama photos and have done them quite a bit already so for this assignment I wanted to try something different. I thought I would be cool to get a macro panorama because I haven’t really seen many of them. I also wanted to try a polar panorama to see if I could do it. Here are a few of what I was able to come up with:

In order to create the snowy river and leaf panorama I followed the instructions found on ilearn. In camera raw I made the sky a little bluer and also added a little light to the riverbank on the snowy river photo. I followed some instructions I found on the Internet in order to make the polar panorama of the amphitheater on campus. The biggest problem I had with this photo was I left my camera’s white balance on auto so it wasn’t the same it all the photos. I had to go in after and do some editing to make it look a little better. I think it turned out pretty good for my first attempt. The photo of the ladybug was a little harder to produce. I started out taking pictures of the ladybug until I got one that I though would work in a panorama. Once I got it I then took multiple shots for the panorama. They didn’t turn out perfect because I didn’t use a tripod. Photoshop wouldn’t put the photos together using photomerge so I had to do it free hand. I started out with a large canvas and started arranging the photos until it looked right. I then used layer masks and painted away what I didn’t want visible. Once the leaf looked right I put the ladybug on.

5 responses

  1. Seth,

    Your maco panoramic is beautiful. I love how the leaf stands out on the black background. I think the edits you did on it to enhance the edge of the leaf are awesome. You did a great job piecing this one together and it’s difficult to sometimes line pictures up. Beautiful shot! I also thought about doing a polor panoramic, with the detail of all the photo’s your turned out great. You are very creative and skilled. I enjoy learning from your work.

    January 30, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    • Thanks! I’ll take it as a complement that you thought I edited the edge of the leaf. Both my macro panos are basically straight out of the camera. The only edits I did was getting them into panorama format. I also enjoy the photos you take. I think you are better then you give yourself credit for in class.

      January 31, 2012 at 1:04 am

  2. Seth,
    I think it is really cool that you didn’t do what everyone else did on this project! I like the creative twist that you took in making your panoramic a circle, it’s awesome! I definitely give props to you for being creative! Nice work!

    January 30, 2012 at 8:35 pm

  3. Seth, this is a killer ladybug panorama! I love the crisp, tack-sharp effect and I can’t believe how well you manually stitched it together. Incredible work. I only have one suggestion. Please make your images larger in your blog! The thumbnail size is too small to get the impact first impression. Many people won’t click the images to make them larger, so they miss your amazing work. Even if it means more scrolling with larger images, IT IS WORTH IT, when THE IMAGES ARE THIS GOOD! Keep up the great work! Wow, even better than the Sprite bubbles, and I was very impressed with your creative genius on that shot. This is going to be in my top 3 shots of the semester, unless you can top it?

    January 30, 2012 at 11:24 pm

  4. Chellie Dazey

    I really love your pano shots, but my favorite is definitely the ladybug. It’s just so striking. The contrast between the ladybug and the leaf, on the black background gives it such a gorgeous simplicity and the colors are so vibrant. I gotta admit, I’m kind of jealous man. Your stuff is really good.

    February 1, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

