An Exploration of Light for Comm 370

Flexible Edits

Sunset on the River –

For this photo I started out by adding a levels adjustment layer and adjusted it until I liked how the sky looked except for the yellow part. I then used black on the layer mask to revile everything except the sky. I then added another levels adjustment layer and adjusted it until I liked how the river and snow looked. I then used black on the layer mask to revile everything except the river and snow.  Next I added another levels layer and adjusted it to make the yellow in the sky look good. I used black on the mask to revile everything except the yellow in the sky. I then adjusted the vibrance of the colors with another adjustment layer. I added a cooling photo filter layer and then masked out everything except the blue sky. I used a smart filter to apply a smart sharpen to sharpen up the trees. I then used black to revile everything except the trees because I didn’t like what sharpening did to the sky. Making so many adjustment added some noise to parts of the photo so I used the reduce noise filter on everything except the trees.

Parrot –

First thing I did to this photo was tried to make the background a little better. I added a levels adjustment layer and adjusted it until I liked how the background looked. I then used black on the layer mask to revile the parrot. I then adjusted the levels for the parrot. I increased the contrast slightly on the parrot using an adjustment layer. I also increased the vibrance some. I used the unsharpen mask as a smart filter.

One response

  1. Seth! Your edits turned out great! I really like the Sunset on a River photo. The original was a really nice shot but once you enhanced those colors by changing the levels the photo really popped! I thought it was very nicely done. The parrot is pretty neat too, I definitely like the edited one. The background is much less distracting and its easier to focus on the qualities of the parrot. Nice work this week! (Also…you lucky duck… with your 7D!!!)

    January 24, 2012 at 5:17 am

Leave a comment