An Exploration of Light for Comm 370

A Study in Green

The first thing that I thought of shooting that was green was the gummy bears. I tried to think of some creative ways that I could position them that would be interesting. The two I used here and the one with the text in the edit post were my favorite. The picture with the Sprite label in the carbonation bubbles was the hardest to get. I have seen similar pictures before and I wanted to see if I could do it. I had to remove the Sprite label from the bottle and put it on backwards so it could be read. I was planning on using a tripod so that the camera wouldn’t have any shake to it. This wasn’t possible because the bubbles moved and I had to vary the angle depending on where the bubbles were. Also with a macro shot like this the depth of field is so shallow the slightest movement in or out will through the focus off.  I had no choice but to increase my ISO, use a fast shutter speed and handhold for this shot. I’m glad it turned out as well as it did. Camera raw and Photoshop were used minimally to brighten up the colors a little. I also removed some black spots that were on the leaf.

2 responses

  1. hey Seth. I like it! your choice of color is really good. i especially like the track the tractor shot. the blending is really good. i like the composition of the color. also the picture of the leaf is really interesting i like it because it causes me to think of endless potability it just keeps you going forward. great job!

    January 16, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    • ha ha sorry that is suppose to be possibility’s.

      January 16, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Leave a Reply

