An Exploration of Light for Comm 370

Past Photos

Here is a selection of some of my past work:

Baby Z

In this shot I used two off camera flashes. One was up and to the left of the subject and the other was behind the sheet in the background to brighten it up. In Photoshop I smoothed out his skin and used a black and white adjustment layer. I used a layer mask on the black and white layer and painted with black to reveal color in his eyes.

Mother & Child

I used a remotely triggered flash through an umbrella in order to be softer diffused light. In Photoshop I was able to make the background solid black and then converted it to black and white.

Illuminated Petunia

I shot this in my apartment while trying out my new extension tubes. I had the flash under the flower to give it a glowing look.

Sunset Reflected

I saw the sunset reflecting off this pond in Driggs on our drive home from Jackson and I had to stop. I use a tripod with long exposure to capture the fading colors of the sunset. I boosted the saturation and vibrance some in Photoshop.

Power Wagon

My dad has had this old truck sitting out in the trees for years. He always says he is going to fix it up but hasn’t got around to it yet. I figured it might as well be used as art if nothing else. I took three different exposures and use HDR photo merge in Photoshop. I then increased the saturation, vibrance, and contrast. I also added a vignette.

Virginia Falls

To get this shot I set up my tripod on a rock in the river. I almost fell in getting there. I used a neutral density filter that allowed me to use a longer exposure to give the water a ribbony effect. There are three photos stitched together for a vertical panorama.

Mormon Row Barn

The barns on Mormon Row are special to my family because that is where my Great Great Grandparents settled. It probably can’t be proven but they probably helped the Moltens build the barns. This photo is multiple photos stitched together in Photoshop.  Minimal edits to levels and saturation.

Lodge Pole Forrest

Shot this while hiking in Yellow Stone National Park near Cave Falls. I thought this was an interesting combination of texture and lines. I particularly like it in black and white.

Snow Berries

I found these berries in my in-laws front yard while we were there visiting for Christmas. This shot was hand held and I used a wide aperture to get good bokeh in the background. In Photoshop I increased the saturation then applied a black and white adjustment layer. I then used a layer mask and painted with black to reveal the red in the berries.

July Storm

An interesting combination between a brush fire and a thunderstorm.  Adjusted levels and saturation in Photoshop.

3 responses

  1. Wow. I can definitely tell that you have experience with photography before this class. I love your photos. I’m not sure if it is, but your Power Wagon photo almost looks like an HDR because the colors are so incredibly vibrant. I remember the July Storm photo. The colors in the sky that day were crazy, you did a really great job capturing them in your photo. I really like your Sunset Reflected photo as well. The colors and composition in that shot are awesome. I have always wanted to take some reflection photos but I haven’t gotten around to it. I can tell you have a passion for photography, I’m excited to see your work as the semester continues.

    January 10, 2012 at 1:14 am

  2. Awesome photos. I love the variety of shots, locations, and angles you have posted. I love the flower shot. Its very elegant and I love how it fills the frame. And I’m kind of jealous that you have a shot of the famous Mormon Row Barn at dawn. Great shot too. It’s fun to see that you have a lot of the shots that I personally want/ wanted to get. Like the temple during the fires too. Great composition. I like how the grass in front is out of focus, but the temple is sharp. Like Zach said above, I excited to see your work throughout the semester.

    January 11, 2012 at 12:00 am

  3. Bonnie

    Clearly you know what you are doing. What grabs me right away are the great colors in your shots. I love the sky in the temple shot; it is something you don’t see. What I like besides the colors are the great artistic shots you were able to capture. The lines and contrast are just great. I believe we were in comm 130 together and you won some of the photography contests and the class got to see some of your winning shots. Was that you?

    January 11, 2012 at 7:28 am

Leave a Reply

